Menu Search

Leadership Music Selects Class of 2018

NASHVILLE (6-1-2017) – Leadership Music’s 29th class will be composed of 49 industry leaders from across the country. Founded in 1989 by twelve music industry alumni of Leadership Nashville, Leadership Music has graduated more than 1,100 leaders. The annual program is designed to create a forum for established music industry leaders to identify and explore issues currently affecting the music industry; to learn as they deep-dive into almost every segment of the music business; and to provide once-in-a-lifetime experiences while building lasting relationships with classmates and alumni.

“The Leadership Music Class of 2018 is an impressive group of industry professionals with a wealth of experience and expertise from a diverse field of those that work within the music business,” said Mike Craft, Senior Vice President, Finance, Big Machine Label Group, who, as immediate past president of the board of directors, co-chaired the selection committee with Jeff Gregg, President of Leadership Music and an agent with CAA.

“We had a record number of applications, up 22% from last year, and choosing 49 applicants from among those who applied is one of the most challenging tasks for the selection committee. The selection committee, composed of 33 alumni from every facet of the industry, deliberates over a four-week period, and makes every effort to choose the most balanced and diverse class possible. We all consider it a privilege to serve on this committee.”

Participants first attend an orientation and alumni welcome reception in September, a two-day Opening Retreat in October, followed by six all-day sessions once a month, ending in May with graduation at a two-day Closing Retreat.

Members of the Class of 2018 are:

Al Andrews, Founder/Executive Director, Porter’s Call

David Angell, Violinist, Nashville Recording Orchestra

Dave Barnes, Artist

Amelia Wang Binder, Vice President, NMPA, (Washington, DC)

Legina Chaudoin, Principal, O’Neil Hagaman,

Kelly Clague, Senior Vice President, EM.Co

Monica Coates, Vice President, A&R, Motown Gospel

Chris Cobb, Co-Owner/Co-Founder, JR Facility Management

Tim Dadson, Deputy General Counsel, SoundExchange (Washington, DC)

Kat Davis, CEO/President, The Brown Book Agency

Chris DeStefano, Songwriter/Record Producer

Nic Dugger, Owner, TNDV: Television LLC

Darren Elrod, Senior Vice President, Finance & Operations, Provident Music Group

Mike Fernandez, Dean, College of Entertainment and the Arts, Lipscomb University

Jason Fridenstine, Business Manager, Flood, Bumstead, McCready & McCarthy, Inc.

Rick Froio, Executive Vice President, Black River Records

Phil Guerini, Vice President, Music Strategy, Disney Channels Worldwide/GM, Radio                        Disney Network (Burbank, CA)

Michael Guth, Chief Operating Officer, Opry Entertainment Group

Wayne Haun, President, Stowtown Records

Tera Healy, East Regional Director, The Recording Academy (Park Ridge, IL)

Carletta Higginson, Corporate Counsel, Global Music, Google, Inc. (New York, NY)

Mallory Hines, Managing Director, Entertainment & Exhibits, San Antonio Stock Show &

Rodeo (San Antonio, TX)

Mason Hunter, Executive Director, Events & Strategic Partnerships, BMI

Kurt Johnson, Senior Vice President, Townsquare Media (Dallas, TX)

Claude Kelly, Songwriter/Owner, Wierdo Workshop

Brad Kennard, Vice President, Creative, Razor & Tie Music Publishing

Kris Lamb, Vice President, Promotion, Big Machine Label Group

Fletcher Lee, CEO, TourGigs, LLC (Knoxville, TN)

Curtis LeGeyt, Executive Vice President, Government Relations, National Association of             Broadcasters (Washington, DC)

Jesse Mann, Senior Vice President, Strategy & Operations, AC Entertainment

Chris Mara, Owner, Welcome to 1979

Michael McDonald, Founder, Mick Management (Brooklyn, NY)

Kevin Meads, Agent, WME

Lee Thomas Miller, Songwriter

Paul Oakley, Vice President, Communications, Bridgestone Americas, Inc.

Thom Oliphant, Vice President, Development, Taillight TV/Co-Founder, My Country            Nation

Annie Ortmeier, Senior Director, Streaming & Digital Marketing, Universal Music Group

Tom Osborn, Vice President, Marketing, New West Records

Buster Phillips, Agent, CAA

Paul Schiminger, Executive Director, International Bluegrass Music Association

Cass B. Scripps, Vice President, APA

Matt Signore, COO, Warner Music Nashville

Trina Smith, Owner, Me Gusta Music

Elise Stawarz, Vice President, Marketing, Crowd Surf

Shanna Strassberg, TV and Live Event Talent Booker/Producer/Media Coach

Jensen Sussman, President/Owner, Sweet Talk Publicity

Stephanie Taylor, Attorney, Stites & Harbison

Lauren Tingle, Writer,

Kevin Wilson, Senior Vice President, Business Affairs, CMA

Back To News

© 2018 Leadership Music.